Regular Service Continues

Menlough Castle BW2

SoFoBoMo continues… The above being a particular piece of evidence for my progress.

At the moment, my Lightroom SoFoBoMo collection contains about 130 photos. Of these, about 10 or 12 are half-decent, and will make it in to the final product. With 13 days down, and 18 to go, I think I’m on reasonable track for this. However, the current decision of the weather to fall back into the Irish default isn’t helping. (Although, it must be said, the nice dramatic sky rather helps this photo, I think.)

Another problem I’m having is with the subject matter. As I said before, I’m focusing on the river Corrib as it rolls through Galway City. However, some of the locations along the river that I had intended to include in the book don’t really seem to fit the rest. Specifically, I’m talking about NUIG. The few photos I took on a scouting run through here are very steel’n’concrete architectural-style shots, which jars with the undulating riverbanks of most of the other stuff I’ve shot. Still, there’s a few that I quite like, so hopefully I can transition neatly between two styles.

See, I’m learning stuff with this whole SoFoBoMo carry-on!

In other news, the Galway Arts Festival has begun, and I’m looking forward to seeing the meagre couple of things I could afford to go to. I am booked in for The Divine Comedy and a talk by Bret Easton Ellis, but I’m raging my inability to go to productions of Uncle Vanya, Penelope, and a couple of other smaller gigs.

If you’re around Galway, check it out. There’s a load of great stuff on.

1 Comment

Filed under Black and White, Outdoor

One response to “Regular Service Continues

  1. wormbent

    Nice photo, man.